Home > Hyper-V, Windows 2008 R2 > Windows 2008 R2 SP1- First Look… Well That’s Cool

Windows 2008 R2 SP1- First Look… Well That’s Cool

Yesterday I got the chance to start testing Windows 2008 R2 SP1 beta on my test servers, I want to share this experience with you.

The installation was simple and took about 20 min ( 2 Quad Core Processors and 20 GB RAM )

After the first restart the server will restart again

Now time for testing.. Check properties for one of my VM..and now I have new options under VM Memory

Now.. time to start my first VM ( Windows 2008 R2 with SQL and MED-V installed )

The VM started with 512 MB

The OS inside the VM recognized a new driver and start trying to install driver SW for it

The driver installation will fail 😦 .. As the VM is still using the old IC.. So I will install the new IC

Now time for guest restart

Now my VM is can understand the synamic memory..I started my VM and kept eye on Hyper-V Console

Now my VM started with 918 MB of RAM.. Coz my SQL started automatically

So I decided to do a small test.. I opened my VM and terminate my SQL process.. and guess what

The Dynamic Memory adjusted my running RAM to 606 MB :).. that is cool.

I will start more testing on different OS with different workloads.. So stay tuned

  1. A
    July 7, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    Great work

  2. khadiga
    July 21, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Interesting!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

