Home > SCVMM, Tips&Tricks, VMM > VMM tricks: “Virtual Machine Manager lost the connection to the virtual machine because another connection was established to the machine”

VMM tricks: “Virtual Machine Manager lost the connection to the virtual machine because another connection was established to the machine”

After finishing my new test lab to test my new VDI solution I faced this problem.

My Lab:

  • 2 Windows 2008 R2 Hyper-V hosts Clustered with failover cluster
  • VMM 2008 R2 Server
  • A new VM with Windows 2008

Finished my Cluster setup and Installed VMM on 3th server.. Add Cluster hosts went fine without any problems… Then I tried to connect my VM through VMM console and Ooops …

I got this error message “Virtual machine manager lost the connection to the virtual machine because another connection was established to the machine”.

I am using Enterprise administrator account since it is a test lab.. make sure that no other connection form Hyper-V console to this VM. Try to press Reconnect bottom.. No thing same error

mm.. trying to connect using Hyper-V Manager went fine.. Remote desktop connection no problems

Virtual Machine Manager is run as administrator. So I closed the console and right click the SCVMM console, and select “run as administrator”. No Changes .. grrrrrrrrrr.

Removing the Hyper-V Cluster and add it again… Same error

So I created a new User with domain admin privilege and add it to VMM admins group.. trying to connect and it is working.

So the problem was in my Enterprise administrator account.. looks like VMM is having problem with this account, So I deleted it from VMM User roles and added it again and guess what.. it is working.

Categories: SCVMM, Tips&Tricks, VMM Tags: ,
  1. September 7, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    This is caused by UAC, if you “Run as Administrator” on the SCVMM icon, you will then be able to “Connect to virtual machine”.

    Or turn off UAC. You of course need an account that has permission to SCVMM.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

