Home > Hyper-V, SCVMM, Tips&Tricks, VMM, VMM2012, VNext > VMM 2012: VM properties crash the console

VMM 2012: VM properties crash the console

When I start testing for VMM 2012 I face small problem. After Adding my host to VMM and start testing when I select VM properties crash the console Sad smile

This happens for VMs running on Hyper-V Windows 2008 R2 SP1..this host used to be managed by VMM 2008 R2 SP1..then I removed the agent and installed VMM 2012 Agent.

VMM server is running on VM..When I right click on the VM and select properties it crash..but when I press properties from the top Pan I freeze…

VMM Vnext Error

Capture3

I submit this error on Connect website and Richard Rundle from Microsoft was kind enough to give me help in that

Resolution

This is a known issue with the Beta. You can run the following script on the VMM Server to prevent the crash:

Get-SCVirtualMachine | where {$_.HostType -eq "VMHost"} | Get-SCVirtualNetworkAdapter | where {$_.logicalnetwork -eq $null} | Set-SCVirtualNetworkAdapter –NoLogicalNetwork

 

Now everything is working fine

047

  1. Luciano
    August 29, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    Hello
    I’m from Brazil and we are doing tests in SCVMM 2012 and am having the same problem, but I can not run the script informed, you could tell me how he was placed in powershell.

    hug

    • Mohamed Fawzi
      August 31, 2011 at 1:37 pm

      just copy and paste in powershell

    • October 4, 2011 at 10:57 pm

      It has to be run in the powershell window launched from within VMM. (Under VMs and Services, Home tab, “Window” group, PowerShell)

  2. Stephan van der Plas
    February 18, 2013 at 11:37 pm

    Just for your information: This issue still is existent in SCVMM 2012 SP1, and also this same solution applies. Thanks!

  3. Akbar
    December 3, 2015 at 8:06 am

    Hi Fawzi,

    I am facing this issue. We have VMM Client installed on one of the Jump boxes and we connect to SCVMM from that. SCVMM 2012 and version is “3.0.6060.0”. It does not happen all the time, But I can say few times in a month. Usually a reboot fixes the issue.

    Just wanted to know – If I run the above PS command, what it does exactly ? Does it modify/Delete any Physical/Logical network settings ? Does any of Physical Hosts or VMs gets effected to this command or only SCVMM ?

    The reason why I am asking is that We have almost 80+ Hyper-V hosts and around 450 VMs hosted on that which are connected to this SCVMM. And I cannot take risk with this kind of environment.

    So an you let me know what does it do ?

  4. Akbar
    December 3, 2015 at 8:12 am

    Hi Fawzi,

    What does this command performs ? Does it modify/delete any settings to the Physical Host or VM? Does it modify/Delete any physical/Logical networks ?

    Reason I am asking is, I cannot take risk with my current setup we have for the customer..I just wanted to double check before I suggest this. Please do reply to me or drop me a mail .. Its quite urgent.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

